Savoring Summer

It’s no joke that summer has officially ended. I’ve been at Appalachian for three weeks of my senior year and I dove right in: work, homework, and all. However, this post for Blogtember makes me super excited because I got to reflect on summer. And you know what? I spend this summer in Winston-Salem, NC. It seriously may have been one of the best summers of my entire life. I really saw God at work, not only in my own life, but in the town I was living in and the church I was working with.

I’m more than happy to reflect on this summer and share some of my favorite things! (Most of them will be Winston-Salem related, because it’s too true.) If you find yourself in the camel city, check these things out!

The first is a picture of Downtown WS, the Dash, Camel City…whichever you prefer. I am thankful for this city playing such a large role in the discernment of what I want to do in my life and what God is calling me to do. Krankie’s (a DTWS spot) is a coffee shop I frequented at least twice a week, always enjoying an iced chai or fried chicken sandwich. UGH I think I’m drooling thinking about them. But, every Thursday, you could find a group of my friends and I at Foothills Brewing’s Trivia night! Also, Design Archives is another spot I spent much of my time at this summer. They’ve got the most wonderful gifts, trinkets, and special finds.

Now for random: flamingos have been my thing. Nope! I couldn’t actually tell you why. I think I’ve been hiding my love for pink everything and now I’m finally indulging myself. I bought this print and I’m dying to get my hands on this mug!

Centering prayer also caught my attention this summer. Sitting in silence with my Creator is one of the best ways I can spend my time, I believe. Paired with Rachel Held Evans’ Searching for Sunday, I caught a little glimpse of Heaven.

Now, two things you must pay attention too: 1) Starbuck’s vanilla iced coffee + cream + extra pump of vanilla. 2) Soma’s Smoothing shorts (I’m absolutely obsessed. I own three pairs!)

Wow. I loved WS. I loved summer. I loved reflecting back on how much fun this summer was. Did you have any fun this summer? Any fun at all?

xo, anna.jpg

Leave a Reply

